PhpBB website hacked
Anarchy told me about it, I wouldn't have noticed it otherwise as I am not a phpbb user. Its a shock though to read on the net what happened and how it happened. Even worse is to see that their website http://www.phpbb.com has been displaying the notification now for some time.
So the question is what did I notice. Well ever since the PhpBB attach there have been an increase of queries to certain files on our site especially the forums. I checked the nature of these attacks with the Phorum Dev team and got a confirmation back that its nothing to worry about as these attempts are just random shotgun shots. Basically just random shooting hoping they will hit something, most of the time just targetting any script running on PHP.
So now what, well I guess if you run phpBB move to Phorum ;-) No just kidding, if you like phpBB its a good script. Just follow the basic rules. One, always make sure your software is up to date. And two, make regular backups and if you see suspicious log entries report them.
Otherwise it comes with the territory. So much for now, more later if I can find out what they exact attack looked like.
-

- Hajduk's blog
- Login to post comments







